Almost at that 1/2 way mark

I was just reminded by my Host Mum that it’s been a while since an update, so here is the last couple of months of life in Austria…

thumb_IMG_9949_1024
Zwentendorf AKW with Erika and Tom

A visit from New Zealander Tom earlier in May was really nice, as we finished off whole tubs of ice-cream, explored Vienna and visited a Nuclear-Power Plant which was never put into action along with Erika and my host Dad.  The tour for the nuclear plant was in German, and I understood a little which was really cool. Zwentendorf was the first power plant built in Austria, but start-up was prevented by a referendum in 1978. Since then, still no power-plants for electricity are operating in Austria, and Zwentendorf along with 5 others built are used to provide spare parts for plants in Germany. It was a really interesting tour, and the equiptment and general size is really amazing.

I have been truly blessed with my Rotary club here, and especially with my Youth Officer, as he organised a trip to Tirol, Austria to experience some of the more outdoor adventure side of this country.  Along with exchange students (ex- and current) Dorothea, Adam, Julianna and Eduardo, I got to have a go at some rock climbing in the most beautiful and nature-perfect place in this country.

After being picked up from school by Dorothea and having a huge (and delicious) lunch grilled for us by our Youth Exchange Officer – Herbert Patschka, we started our 7 hour car ride down to Tirol meeting Julianna at Innsbruck bahnhof before heading to where we would be staying the rest of the weekend.The weekend was spent at the very welcoming home of Herbert’s daughter and her partner, Claudia and Klaus, who gave up the entire weekend to show us around some via verrata (klettersteig) and climbing spots in Tirol.  As it had rained a little bit that weekend, we were unable to climb on the Sunday, so instead we made our way to Kaiser Maximilian Grotte where Klaus set up a swing and we spent a few hours swinging and enjoying the beautiful views on offer to us.

 

I remember when we first arrived here and seeing people walking while we were on our language camp and laughing about it with my friend Mici, and now I have also finally tried ‘walking‘ here (it includes two poles and is a lot harder than you think).

thumb_IMG_0107_1024
Walking with Andrea

My co-ordination is not so good and Andrea (my Host Mum) had a good giggle whenever I would start my sticks going out of time or trip over them a little… It’s safe to say we’ve done a lot more biking (radfahren) than walking since then.

 

As the year is getting further through, I’m also having to think about preparations for university in New Zealand next year, which can be a bit scary. I have so far managed to gain acceptance into Viticulture and Oenology in Lincoln University, which I am pretty stocked with, and am working on scholarship applications and soon accomodation.  I am so so lucky to be in contact with the school liaison lady, who has offered me skype calls to help set up my courses and everything else! My little sister Bella recently turned 17 in NZ and I the post worked its magic and she got a few souvenirs from my Europe tour, and also went to her first school ball and looked absolutely gorgeous.

 

thumb_IMG_0355_1024
one of the successful pavlovas

My pavlova skills are definitely increasing as I have made 3 in the last month, for friends, Father’s Day, and a garden party at Herbert’s house… with two of the three being successful, and one completely black (I’m still not too sure what happened, but I blame the oven!). My host Dad asked why I have already been here 5 months and not yet made one, so it’s safe to say he quite liked it.  I’ve also tried my hand at my Mum’s (NZ) risotto, and chicken breasts will basil pesto and wrapped in bacon – both of which were a success! The garden party at Herbert’s (our YEO) was really nice, and the last time all the Rotary Geras exchange students were all together.

thumb_IMG_0173_1024
best pav recipe you could ever get ^

 

We came early to help set up and make a few dishes, before we sat down with all our host families and Adam’s real family as the overcast and drizzly day turned into a beautiful warm night.  After lots of food and a little bit of wine everyone left and the 5 students stayed the night before some of us headed off to the district conference early the next day.

In the last few weeks, all of our ‘oldies’ – the exchange students here since August 2015 – have been saying their goodbyes and returning back to their home countries.  It’s weird to think we are all again spread all around the world, and the goodbyes are definitely very hard, as a lot of the exchange students become your family while you are here.  I am so so lucky to have met the people I have so far this year, and am so fortunate to have been able to get to know them well enough for them to become brothers and sisters. There is definitely some bond formed on an exchange that is different to anyone you will ever form with friends in your home country.  I will miss them all, but hopefully see them again some time over the world. (side note: A Rotary exchange is such an amazing experience, and I would never look back from doing it… I have learnt so much and met so many amazing people and would 100% recommend doing it. If you are at all interested, give me a shout and I can point you towards more info etc.)

Andrea and Harald also took me to Prater in Vienna to try out some of the amusement park rides and visit Madame Tussauds where I kept expecting the eyes to move as we stood for photos.  They were extremely life-like and I met lots of famous people that day… The rides were also pretty cool with my stomach being completely dropped on a few.  Prater was first started up in 1766, when it was made public and little stalls started popping up. Since then it has become a full amusement park with rollercoasters, riesenrad (ferris wheel), and lots of food stalls. I got to ride the Prater Trum which had awesome views of the whole of Vienna while being spun around – definitely my favourite ride.

This week has been the last week of school, and so plans are starting to form for the summer holidays which is really exciting.  Today we had a grill (BBQ) with my class, playing a few games before heading home for the day.  I’ll be heading down to Vorarlberg to stay with my South African friend, Mici next week, where hopefully we’ll get up to a few things and I’ll have lots to share in my next update (which hopefully won’t be another 2 months!).

Bis Bald

Georgina Maud

 


Leave a comment